← Comparisons

Loops vs Iterable: a published price against a sales conversation

The first difference is visible before any feature: Loops posts a slider with prices, $48 at about 5,000 subscribers, $99 at 10,000 and $249 at 50,000, while Iterable's pricing page says "Book a demo to learn more" and lists no plan or number. Iterable positions itself as an AI customer engagement platform built for enterprise scale. Loops is a self-serve email tool for software products. They overlap on event-triggered journeys and little else.

By Julian Pryor · Updated 7 Oct 2026

Short answer

If you can sign up today, pay by card and need email only, take Loops. If you operate several channels at large volume, have people to run integrations, and expect to negotiate a contract, put Iterable on the shortlist and ask for a quote, since no price is published. A startup should not wait on a demo to learn what email costs.

What each pricing page actually publishes

Both pages were read on 7 October 2026. Iterable's does not give a number, so its column below is a statement of what the page says rather than a price.

ItemLoopsIterable
Plan tiers listedEarly Stage (free) and Growing Audience (paid)None; pricing on request (quote-based)
Price at about 5,000 subscribers$48 at 4,788Not published
Price at about 10,000 subscribers$99 at 9,998Not published
Price at about 50,000 subscribers$249 at 49,989Not published
Free planYes: 4,000 sends per rolling 30 days to the 1,000 newest contactsNone listed
Transactional emailIncluded on paid plansNot stated on the pricing page
SeatsNo per-seat chargeNot stated

Loops' paid figures work out to $576 a year at 4,788 subscribers, $1,188 at 9,998 and $2,988 at 49,989. Iterable cannot be set against those until it sends a quote. See loops.so/pricing and iterable.com/pricing.

Iterable pricing page, captured Oct 2026
Iterable page as captured on 7 Oct 2026: a Book a demo call to action and enterprise positioning, with no plan prices anywhere on the page. Source: iterable.com/pricing
Loops pricing page, captured Oct 2026
Loops' page on 7 Oct 2026, the one of the two that shows a price up front, starting at 1,000 subscribers on the free plan. Source: loops.so/pricing

How events start a message in each tool

Iterable's support documentation describes an events endpoint, POST /api/events/track, which saves a custom event on a user profile. A journey with an "Event occurs" entry source set to that event adds the user. A second entry source, "API call", starts a journey directly through a workflow trigger endpoint. Event names should avoid spaces because referencing a field with a space needs special Handlebars syntax. Iterable's help pages also flag that custom event usage can affect billing, which matters if a high-traffic journey keys off a chatty event.

Loops uses POST https://app.loops.so/api/v1/events/send with an email or userId and an event name. If the contact is new, it is created. Four triggers start a workflow: a contact added, a contact updated, a contact added to a list, and an event received. Custom event names cannot include a colon. Loops adds a Stripe app that forwards events such as invoice.payment_failed, customer.subscription.created and checkout.session.completed into workflows, and it lists Polar, Clerk, Segment and Supabase connections.

Scale and channels

Iterable describes real-time AI decisioning, customer engagement journeys, campaigns, cross-channel personalization and customer data activation, with SMS among its channels. Its page speaks of enterprise-grade performance and security. These are the vendor's own words and no limits are attached to them on the page, so treat them as positioning until a quote lists what is in scope. Loops documents email only: campaigns, workflows and transactional messages, with branching on contact properties, timers and experiments for A/B testing.

For hosting and compliance, neither page read states a data region. If you need a DPA, a named region or a completed security questionnaire, ask both vendors for them in writing before you sign.

Questions to put to Iterable before you compare totals

  • What unit is metered: users, messages, events or data volume, and which of the three Iterable would use for a product with your events per user.
  • Whether transactional email, SMS and data export are in the base quote.
  • The contract length, the renewal uplift and what onboarding or professional services cost.
  • How many people can build journeys, and how many sending projects are included.

With those answers, price Loops at your subscriber count from its slider and compare annual totals.

Who should pick which

  • Loops fits a product company of any size under tens of thousands of subscribers with one or two people running lifecycle email.
  • Iterable fits a larger consumer or B2B platform with high message volumes, several channels and an engineering team to wire up events.
  • Neither yet if you have no lifecycle emails; start with three (welcome, activation, payment failed) in Loops' free plan and revisit.

Moving from Iterable to Loops

  1. Export users with their data fields, and export unsubscribe and bounce lists separately so suppressed people stay suppressed.
  2. Rename events that contain colons before sending them to Loops, and recreate each journey as a workflow with its trigger.
  3. Rewrite templates, since Iterable's Handlebars logic will not carry across.
  4. Note the Iterable contract end date and avoid a cutover that leaves two paid platforms running for months.

Adjacent matchups for teams at the upper end of the market:all comparisons, Loops vs Customer.io, Iterable vs Braze, Iterable vs HubSpot, Iterable vs Klaviyo and tools for enterprise teams.

Loops vs Iterable: common questions

How much does Iterable cost compared with Loops?

Iterable does not publish plan prices. Its pricing page, read on 7 October 2026, says "Book a demo to learn more" and lists no tiers or dollar amounts, so a figure cannot honestly be placed beside Loops' $48 at about 5,000 subscribers, $99 at 10,000 or $249 at 50,000. Pricing on request (quote-based) is the only description the page supports.

Does Iterable have a free plan?

Its pricing page lists none and directs buyers to book a demo. Loops does: the Early Stage plan includes every feature and stays free, within a ceiling of 4,000 sends in any rolling 30 days and delivery to the 1,000 newest contacts.

How do I trigger an Iterable journey from a product event?

Send the event to the events track endpoint, POST /api/events/track, and start a journey with an "Event occurs" entry source set to that custom event. Iterable's documentation also offers an API-call entry source that starts a journey directly. Loops does the equivalent with POST /api/v1/events/send and an "Event received" workflow trigger, and its event names cannot contain a colon.

Is Iterable too big for a startup?

Its own page describes it as an AI customer engagement platform built for enterprise scale, with sales-led pricing. A startup with one person writing lifecycle email will usually find Loops faster to launch and easier to budget. Iterable becomes a candidate when you have channel breadth, data engineering support and procurement requirements that a self-serve tool does not meet.