← Comparisons

Iterable vs HubSpot: a demo-only engagement engine against a price ladder you can read

Iterable's pricing page says "Book a demo to learn more" and shows no plan or price. HubSpot Marketing Hub shows Starter at $7 a month, Professional at $800 and Enterprise at $3,600. So the first difference is access, not features: you can budget HubSpot today and you can only budget Iterable after a sales call. The second is shape, since Iterable is built around events and cross-channel journeys and HubSpot around a CRM with marketing on top.

By Julian Pryor · Updated 7 Oct 2026

Short answer

Choose Iterable if you have engineers who will stream product events into it, you run journeys across several channels, and you are ready to negotiate an enterprise contract. Choose HubSpot if your customer record already lives in a CRM, you want a price you can put in a spreadsheet, and marketing builds the automation. A seed-stage SaaS sending a few lifecycle emails will outgrow neither limit and probably wants a lighter tool than both.

What each one tells you before a sales call

ItemIterableHubSpot Marketing Hub
PriceBook a demo; no figureStarter $7, Professional $800, Enterprise $3,600 a month
Free tierNone listedFree tools at no cost
Pricing unitNot statedPer seat
PositioningAI customer engagement platform built for enterprise scaleMarketing platform with its own CRM behind it
Channels namedCampaigns, journeys, cross-channel personalization; SMS is a supported channelEmail and omni-channel marketing automation on Professional and above
Automation limitsNot published1 action on Free, up to 10 on Starter, unlimited on Professional (up to 300 workflows), up to 1,000 workflows on Enterprise
Data protectionNothing stated on the pricing pageDPA published; hosting region not stated

Sources: Iterable pricing and HubSpot Marketing Hub pricing, both read on 7 October 2026, plus HubSpot's DPA.

Iterable pricing route, captured Oct 2026
Iterable's pricing route as of 7 Oct 2026. It carries product copy and a Book a demo button but no plans or dollar figures. Source: iterable.com/pricing

What HubSpot's list prices add up to

SetupPer monthPer year
Starter, 5 seats at $7$35$420
Professional at the listed $800$800$9,600
Enterprise at the listed $3,600$3,600$43,200

HubSpot's page says pricing is per seat, so contact tiers and seat counts can raise the quote. The point of the table is that a procurement team can see the range before anyone books a meeting. For Iterable there is no such range, which means the first week of evaluation is spent getting one.

Events: how each one hears about your SaaS

Iterable's support documentation defines events as actions taken by a product's users, usable in segmentation and journeys. It gives naming advice that matters for billing data: avoid spaces, so completedSignup works and "completed signup" does not, because a field name with a space needs special Handlebars syntax. It also tells you to track milestones, not every event you can think of, and links a guide to monitoring custom event usage, which suggests that event volume is something you watch. Its mobile SDKs add a purchase call for revenue tracking, and offline event processing has to be enabled by your customer success manager.

Applied to a SaaS billing stack, that points to a small, deliberate set of events sent from your backend when Stripe, Paddle or Chargebee webhooks arrive:

Billing momentIterable patternHubSpot pattern
Trial startedCustom event such as trialStarted starts a journeyContact property set to trialing; enrollment trigger starts a workflow
Payment failedCustom event paymentFailed on the userProperty payment_status set to failed; workflow sends the dunning email
UpgradeEvent planUpgraded, used to exit nurture journeysLifecycle stage and plan property updated; workflow unenrolls
CancelEvent subscriptionCancelled, segment for win-backProperty updated; list membership changes

The event names and property names above are patterns for you to adapt, not names either product supplies. HubSpot's workflow documentation describes enrollment triggers that start a workflow when a record meets criteria, with re-enrollment and unenrollment settings, which is the mechanism the right-hand column uses. Its Enterprise tier lists behavioral events on top.

Who ends up building the journeys

The documentation of each product assumes a different builder. Iterable's event guide is written for developers, with SDK calls in Swift, Java and React Native, JWT-enabled API keys and notes on queueing events when a phone is offline. The marketer's work starts after an engineer has named and shipped the events. HubSpot's workflow guide, by contrast, opens with building a workflow using AI, a template or from scratch, then adding enrollment triggers, re-enrollment and unenrollment settings and actions, which a non-engineer can do in the editor. If your team has one engineer who is already busy, that difference is the cost that does not appear on either pricing page.

For scale, another event-driven tool publishes its prices: Customer.io lists Essentials at $145 a month for 10,000 profiles and $235 for 20,000. It is not the same product as Iterable, but an Iterable quote that lands far above it at your volume should come with capabilities you can name and will actually use. If you cannot name them, the right comparison may be HubSpot or a lighter lifecycle tool, not an enterprise suite.

What to take into an Iterable demo

  1. Your monthly active contact count and the growth you expect over a 12-month contract.
  2. Monthly sends by channel, including transactional-style messages if you plan to use it for them.
  3. The number of custom events per user per month, since Iterable's own guide treats custom event usage as something to monitor.
  4. The number of journeys and segments you expect, and who will build them.
  5. Questions to put in writing: the pricing unit, the overage rate, the onboarding scope, the data protection terms and the exit terms.

Which to choose

  • Iterable fits an enterprise or high-growth SaaS with engineering support, product events as the core trigger and several channels in play.
  • HubSpot Starter fits a very small team with a few automations and a CRM it already uses.
  • HubSpot Professional fits a marketing-led SaaS that wants unlimited automation actions and a budget line of $9,600 a year.
  • HubSpot Enterprise fits a larger team that wants behavioral events and many workflows, at a visible $43,200 a year.

Related reading: Customer.io vs Iterable, Loops vs Iterable, Iterable vs Braze, Iterable vs Klaviyo, Klaviyo vs HubSpot, the marketing automation category and the comparison index.

Iterable vs HubSpot: common questions

How much does Iterable cost?

Iterable does not publish it. Its pricing page says Book a demo to learn more and calls the product an AI customer engagement platform built for enterprise scale. HubSpot's Marketing Hub page, by contrast, lists Starter at $7 a month, Professional at $800 and Enterprise at $3,600. To compare them, give Iterable's sales team your contact count, monthly sends, channels and event volume, and ask for the pricing units in writing.

Is Iterable or HubSpot better for product-event emails?

Iterable's documentation describes events as actions your users take, usable in segmentation and journeys, and it advises tracking milestones, not every event. HubSpot's route is properties and workflow enrollment triggers, with behavioral events listed on Enterprise. If your lifecycle depends on many in-app events, Iterable's event model is the closer fit; if it depends on CRM stages, HubSpot is.

Does HubSpot's automation limit matter on the cheap plans?

Yes. The feature table gives email automation as 1 automated action on Free and up to 10 on Starter. Professional lists unlimited actions with up to 300 omni-channel workflows for 10 teams, and Enterprise up to 1,000 workflows for 300 teams, plus behavioral events and predictive lead scoring.

What does HubSpot publish about data protection?

HubSpot publishes a Data Processing Agreement at legal.hubspot.com/dpa, which is incorporated into its customer terms. The pricing page does not state a hosting region. Iterable's pricing page makes no data-protection statement, so ask its sales team for the DPA and hosting details during the demo.